Quick Search

Subscribe to our Out of Town mailing list
* indicates required
Subscribe to our Local mailing list
* indicates required
The Music of the Republic: Essays on Socrates' Conversations and Plato's Writings, Eva Brann

Author:    Eva Brann

Title:   The Music of the Republic: Essays on Socrates' Conversations and Plato's Writings

Binding:   Paper Back

Book Condition:   New

Publisher:    Paul Dry Books October 2011

ISBN Number:    1589880757 / 9781589880757

Seller ID:   111676

"It is a wonder and a delight to be led by Eva Brann through the Socratic conversations. She begins from first impressions and moves through perplexity to clarity, without losing the thread. Those who do not know the "Republic," will be initiated into its treasures. Those who believe that it is a great book will understand better what they already know. And all who teach the dialogues will find their souls expanded in the presence of this most generous teacher."--Ann Hartle, Emory University

In this collection of essays, Eva Brann talks with readers about the conversations Socrates has with his fellow Athenians. She shows how Plato's dialogues and the timeless matters they address remain important to us today. From introductory pieces on the "Republic," the "Phaedo," and the "Sophist" to an account of the less well known "Charmides," each essay starts where Plato starts, without presupposing a critical theory. In the title essay's brilliant account of the "Republic," Brann demonstrates its central importance in Plato's work. Other essays consider Plato's notion of time, discuss how to teach Plato to undergraduates' and contend that a thoughtful text-based study of Plato can have a very personal impact on a reader. Encouraged to befriend the dialogues, readers will join in the great Socratic conversations.

Eva Brann is a member of the senior faculty at St. John's College in Annapolis, Maryland, where she has taught for more than fifty years.

Price = 22.95 USD

Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to books@eighthdaybooks.com
Copyright©2018. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com