Quick Search

Author
Title
Description
Keyword
 
 
Newsletters
Subscribe to our Out of Town mailing list
* indicates required
Subscribe to our Local mailing list
* indicates required
 
 
 
Boys of Blur, N. D. Wilson
Stock Image

Author:    N. D. Wilson

Title:   Boys of Blur

Binding:   Hardcover

Book Condition:   New

Publisher:    Random House Books for Young Readers April 2014

ISBN Number:    0449816737 / 9780449816738

Seller ID:   124474

Fans of Jerry Spinelli's "Maniac Magee" and Louis Sachar's "Holes" will enjoy this story about a boy and the ancient secrets that hide deep in the heart of the Florida everglades near a place called Muck City.
When Charlie moves from Palm Beach to the small town of Taper, Florida, he discovers a different world. Pinned between the everglades and the swampy banks of Lake Okeechobee, the small town produces sugar cane . . . and the fastest runners in the country. Kids chase muck rabbits in the fields while the cane is being burned and harvested. Dodging flames and blades and breathing smoke, they run down the rabbits for three dollars a skin. And when they can do that, running a football is easy.
But there are things in the swamp, roaming the cane at night, that cannot be explained, and they seem connected to sprawling mounds older than the swamps. Together with his step-second cousin Herman "Cotton" Mack, the fastest boy on the muck, Charlie hunts secrets in the glades and on the muck flats where the cane grows secrets as old as the soft earth, secrets that haunted, tripped, and trapped the original native tribes, ensnared conquistadors, and buried runaway slaves. Secrets only the muck knows.

Price = 16.99 USD



Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to books@eighthdaybooks.com
Copyright©2016. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie