Quick Search

Author
Title
Description
Keyword
 
 
Newsletters
Subscribe to our Out of Town mailing list for announcements of online sales
* indicates required
Subscribe to our Local mailing list for notices of instore events and sales
* indicates required
 
 
 
How Fiction Works, JAMES WOOD
Stock Image

Author:    JAMES WOOD

Title:   How Fiction Works

Binding:   Paper Back

Book Condition:   New

Publisher:    Picador July 2009

ISBN Number:    0312428472 / 9780312428471

Seller ID:   151152

In the tradition of E. M. Forster's "Aspects of the Novel" and Milan Kundera's "The Art of the Novel," "How Fiction Works" is a scintillating study of the magic of fiction--an analysis of its main elements and a celebration of its lasting power. Here one of the most prominent and stylish critics of our time looks into the machinery of storytelling to ask some fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we "know" a fictional character? What constitutes a telling detail? When is a metaphor successful? Is Realism realistic? Why do some literary conventions become dated while others stay fresh?

James Wood ranges widely, from Homer to "Make Way for Ducklings," from the Bible to John le Carre, and his book is both a study of the techniques of fiction-making and an alternative history of the novel. Playful and profound, "How Fiction Works" will be enlightening to writers, readers, and anyone else interested in what happens on the page.

Price = 17.00 USD



Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to books@eighthdaybooks.com
Copyright©2018. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie