Quick Search

Subscribe to our Out of Town mailing list
* indicates required
Subscribe to our Local mailing list
* indicates required
Redeemed: A Spiritual Misfit Stumbles Toward God, Marginal Sanity, and the Peace That Passes All Understanding, HEATHER KING


Title:   Redeemed: A Spiritual Misfit Stumbles Toward God, Marginal Sanity, and the Peace That Passes All Understanding

Binding:   Hardcover

Book Condition:   New

Publisher:    Viking Adult February 2008

ISBN Number:    0670018635 / 9780670018635

Seller ID:   20081013148278

With a keen balance of absurdity, honesty, and joy Heather King recounts her discoveries of everyday life: work, sex, prayer, family, money, mortality, along with alcoholism, abortion, divorce, and numerous other private hells. In addition, her discovery of Christ as 'not a pious image, but a pulsing heart. A warm body. Blood' makes Redeemed one of the most unapologetic discoveries of the Catholic Church in print. Her frankness and humor strike a nerve and leave the reader laughing but raw, with 'Joy [that] has pain in the middle of it.' From her sadistically comic portrayal of the L.A. law firm where she practiced, to her aching account of herself and her seven grown siblings drawn home for their father's final vigil, tenderly waiting while his lungs failed, his legs visibly decayed, and friends said goodbye, tough men collapsing in tears. Reading her story, you want to know her, you want to sit back with a cup of coffee and engage this vibrant, outrageous, joyful woman. The poignancy with which she recounts her story brings her into the room with you; to read Heather King is to engage in a lively, excruciating, and delightful friendship.

An Eighth Day View:

An NPR commentator's story of an unlikely epiphany and the healing power of faith
After years of sleeping around, working as a waitress, and suffering booze- induced blackouts, Heather King settled into sobriety, marriage, and a financially lucrative but unfulfilling career in a Beverly Hills law firm. As someone who had reached middle age ?never believing in much of anything, ? she found herself in the last place she thought she?d end up: the Catholic church.
"Redeemed" describes the steps of King's journey?from finding herself holed up on the couch reading "Hermits of the World" (and then wondering why she and her husband weren?t having sex) to dealing with the breast cancer that brought her face-to-face with the Virgin Mary. With the death of her father and the devastation of divorce, she connects with Jesus Christ: ?A guy who hung out with lepers, paralytics, the possessed: this is someone I can trust.?
This is a profound, fervent, darkly funny tale of an ongoing conversion by a Catholic who, however devout, is about as far from saintlike as can be imagined. Fans of Lauren Winners's "Girl Meets God" and Anne Lamott's writings will be drawn to King's refreshing sense of humor, mesmerizing voice, and piercing honesty.

Price = 24.95 USD

Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to books@eighthdaybooks.com
Copyright©2016. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com