Quick Search

Subscribe to our Out of Town mailing list
* indicates required
Subscribe to our Local mailing list
* indicates required
Death on a Friday Afternoon: Meditations on the Last Words of Jesus from the Cross, RICHARD JOHN NEUHAUS
Stock Image


Title:   Death on a Friday Afternoon: Meditations on the Last Words of Jesus from the Cross

Binding:   Paper Back

Book Condition:   New

Publisher:    Basic Books February 2001

ISBN Number:    0465049338 / 9780465049332

Seller ID:   89625

''If what Christians say about Good Friday is true,'' writes First Things editor Richard John Neuhaus, ''then it is, quite simply, the truth about everything.'' Writing in the tradition of C.S. Lewis and Thomas Merton, Neuhaus sets out to unpack this macrocosmic truth of the Seven Last Words of Jesus. Neuhaus invites us to explore the dark side of human experience while always holding out the promise of light and life.

An Eighth Day View:

Numerous writers and composers have been captivated by the suggestiveness of Jesus' Seven Last Words. But Richard John Neuhaus's sustained exploration of these utterances is something altogether different. Through them he plumbs the depths of human experience and sets forth the central narrative of Western civilization-the suffering, death, and resurrection of Christ-in a way that engages the attention of believers, unbelievers, and those who are not sure what they believe. Death on a Friday Afternoon is an invitation to the reader into a spiritual and intellectual exploration of the dark side of human experience with the promise of light and life on the far side of darkness.

Price = 16.99 USD

Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to books@eighthdaybooks.com
Copyright©2016. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com