Quick Search

Subscribe to our Out of Town mailing list
* indicates required
Subscribe to our Local mailing list
* indicates required
Charles Dickens: A Life, Jane Smiley

Author:    Jane Smiley

Title:   Charles Dickens: A Life

Binding:   Paper Back

Book Condition:   New

Publisher:    Penguin (Non-Classics) November 2011

ISBN Number:    0143119923 / 9780143119920

Seller ID:   97752

For fans of the soon-to-be-released film about Charles Dickens starring Ralph Fiennes, a brilliantly insightful biography from Pulitzer Prize-winning author Jane Smiley
With delectable wit and characteristic sensitivity, Jane Smiley presents a fresh, illuminating take on the life of Charles Dickens. Smiley finds a kindred spirit in the author of such classics as "Great Expectations" and "A Christmas Carol," who was not only a prolific writer but also one of the first modern "celebrities." She offers interpretations of many of Dickens's major works, exploring his narrative techniques and his innovative voice and themes. A perceptive profile of the great master and a fascinating meditation on the writing life, this biography is perfect for fans of "The Invisible Woman, " the Charles Dickens biopic starring Ralph Fiennes, Felicity Jones, and Kristin Scott Thomas, which hits theaters in February 2014.

Price = 14.00 USD

Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to books@eighthdaybooks.com
Copyright©2016. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com